I do not need a Superman

If Joe Brooks sat in front of me with his guitar and started strumming along Superman, I’d tell him that I do not need a superhero to make me feel special. People in costumes who parade themselves as cape crusaders are so overrated. Even my dad is no superhero, but at his best, he made me feel like I am the most important person in his life. I guess that is more encouraging for me to press on and finish the race.

So this is me right now, being all hopeless romantic. I want to fall helplessly in love. I want simple songs to be dedicated to me and I do not mind if the guy will be Simon Cowell’s best victim of mortification. The guy croons his best rendition of a ballad for me! what can be sweeter than that? I just have a soft heart for guys who sing – pro, amateur or out of tune at that!

I want to read random post-it notes, hanging on for dear life on the wind shield of my car with the words, “I love you so much, I’d drive you anywhere, even to the moon and back, just to be with you!” silly sweet things like that.  There is no limit to cheesiness! no age requirement to being head over heals in love and romantic! My heart bursts.

I’d die momentarily for a guy who would do anything just to touch the palm of my hands because it’s the only power that will send him soaring to new heights. Of course I know that’d be so cliche and impossible, but it does not hurt to hear it from someone. He’d steal glimpses of my smile just because my fleeting grin will make him beam with happiness all day.

OR this will even do for me – “I got you ice cream! I was thinking of buying you chocolates but I figured that you are so weight-conscious so I did not want to tempt you. I went for the lesser evil of your favorites! I know it’s nothing but I hope this simple gesture will somehow make you feel that you are not alone. I am here.”

My heart bursts even more.

As Emma Stone says in Easy A,

Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies? I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80’s movie, preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, no, John Hughes did not direct my life.

WHY? why?

That is what I need at the moment. Just for a moment. OR A LIFETIME will do as well.

It need not be extravagant! I just need something out of the usual routine. Guys become so complacent once they get the girl! Damn it.

 

 

 

What do you think?